Tags

, , , , ,

Being that this was a trip for work, I will veer off the path of my typical post style and provide an overview of what will be a break from my annual trip to Beijing.

This year, the school choose a different provider, The Hutong, which proved to be a five-star experience. They undoubtedly lived up to their slogan, “Sharing Cultural, Sharing Knowledge,” and left both kids and kids at heart, with memories that will last a lifetime. If you ever have a chance to visit Beijing, most definitely look them up. You will thank me later. 🙂

 Our power-packed itinerary included visits to the following:

  • An overnight stay in the Yaoqiaoyu Village: You get a taste of the culture countryside while still enjoying Western accommodations.
  • A visit to the Gubeikou section of the Great Wall: A moment to put your body in gear as you climb up to see towers that allow you to span as much as the Great Wall your eyes can absorb.
  • A day of tea and noodle making at the Hutong Courtyard followed by a Hutong Zou-n-Go Scavenger Hunt that included a subway ride. Thankfully they provided an angel so that I would not lose or cause my cherubs to get lost.
  • The awe-struck Acrobats Show that never disappoints! It is amazing what these talented gymnasts do in an hour that leaves you genuinely amazed.
  • A quick visit to the Temple of Heaven, where we were able to join in with seniors who make it their daily business to exercise as a community. Some of those wise individuals put my flexibility to shame, and they indeed have raised the bar. 
  • The Summer Palace is known as the best imperial garden in Beijing, which happened to belong to the Qing Dynasty. My “You can’t be serious,” fun fact was that the palace includes shopping streets specifically designed to imitate those in Suzhou where the Emporer hired actors to play regular people. Now that is a job I could do without question or hesitation!
  • 798 Art District is a product of Beijing and Berlin, which is now a decommissioned military factory that is over fifty years old. 

I count it a blessing that my last trip in the foreseeable future ended on such a positive note. I could not have asked for better students, better weather, or a better cultural experience.