Tags

,

Click on the link below to enjoy the virtual experience:

Jaipur

Background Information:

Amber Fort, the monkey temple, and shopping were part of my visit in Jaipur. Amber Fort was built in 1592 and was the capitol of the Kachhwaha clan until Jaipur become the capital in 1727. Jaipur also known as the pink city was founded in 1727 by Maharaja Jai Singh II, a Kachhwaha Rajput, who ruled from 1699-1744. Please check out the video. 🙂

Eat:

I have yet to become a full fledge lover of Indian food. I stay with the basics (butter chicken, samosas, rice, and nan). To add variety I enjoy a lot of Chinese food which is either Chow Mein or fried rice, chicken of course. I did splurge for KFC the other day but the secret recipe is still a secret in India. 🙂

Pray:

I am pray for humanity. It has been a challenge to see poverty on a daily basis with wealth woven in between. There are organizations that contribute directly to the cause and specifically for children who are often at stop lights begging for money or sweets.

Love:

I am still in awe of the resilience of the Indian people. I love the fact that they are not deterred by barriers. For example, on the way to Jaipur we encountered what could have been a 2-3 hour traffic jam. As to not be deterred the driver went across the highway to the service road and rode that until it ran out. One might think “oh no, now what?!” The now what was: ride down the road on to oncoming traffic honking your horn to warn drivers up ahead to move. Love it!

Teach:

I have learned not to make eye contact with a salesman or focus on any item in the store unless I am interested in a courageous conversation. Otherwise I am asking for a medley of, “Excuse madam, come look, come buy. For you madam, I will give you a good price.” Perhaps this will cure me of my shopping habit…